Archive for the ‘UNESCO’ Category

Volcano Climbing at Mount Taal

Posted by on Dec 12th, 2009
File Under: Batangas, Featured, UNESCO

Taal volcano is a very touristy area. It is one of Tagaytay’s main attractions, and lately it has become popular for volcano climbing. Volcano climbing is a rising sport tourism activity around the world. Many adventure travelers are drawn to climb a live volcano for the thrill and experience it brings.

Taal Volcano

Posted by on May 2nd, 2009
File Under: Batangas, Featured, Photos, UNESCO

Taal Volcano is an active volcano located about 70-km south of Manila inside a lake, it was formed through one major eruption at the center of a lake, and since the lake itself is the crater of a prehistoric volcano, and within the lake, other eruptions have occurred producing more craters and micro-lakes. The vista from the rim is unrivaled.

Taal Volcano Protected Landscape was declared Philippines’s National Geological Monument (together with Chocolate Hills, and Hundred Islands National Park) and was also proposed for inclusion in the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2006.

Chocolate Hills Natural Monument

Posted by on Apr 30th, 2009
File Under: Bohol, Featured, Photos, UNESCO

The Chocolate Hills was declared Philippines’s 3rd National Geological Monument (together with Taal Volcano, and Hundred Islands National Park) and recently included in the nomination for the New 7 Wonders of Nature, and also proposed for inclusion in the UNESCO World Heritage List.

UNESCO – Baroque Churches of the Philippines

Posted by on Apr 23rd, 2009
File Under: Churches, Featured, Photos, UNESCO

The Baroque Churches of Phlippines is the official designation of 1. Church of San Agustin in Manila, 2. Church of La Nuestra Señora de la Asuncion in Santa Maria, Ilocos Sur, 3. Church of San Agustin in Paoay, Ilocos Norte, 4. Church of Santo Tomas de Villanueva in Miag-ao, Iloilo, when the four spanish era churches were inscribed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 1993. The unique design of these four churches reflects the integration of Spanish and Latin American architecture to indigenous architecture of the Philippines, including a fusion with Chinese style.

UNESCO – Ifugao Rice Terraces

Posted by on Apr 21st, 2009
File Under: Featured, Luzon, Photos, UNESCO

The Ifugao Rice Terraces which is also known as the “Eight wonder of the world”, are rice terraces craved into the Ifulgao mountains by ancestors of the Batad indigenous people (the oldest mountain tribe in this area) using primitve tools more than 2,000 years ago.

IN 1995, The Ifulgao Rice Terrances was was inscribed in the UNESCO World Heritage List in recognition of the living organically-evolved cultural landscape shaped by sacred traditions and the ingenuity of the Ifugao people – an outstanding model of sustainable use of limited land resources, using traditional knowledge-based technology that has evolved over the last two millennia.